Plant-based vs vegan – what’s the difference?

Plant-based vs vegan – what’s the difference?

Jan 24, 2024Nikita Singh

Plant-based vs vegan – what’s the difference and why does it matter?

Plant-based vs vegan – what’s the difference?

There is no universally-accepted definition for ‘plant-based’ but The Vegan Society describes a plant-based diet as “one whereby people eat foods mostly from plants and avoid animal-derived products but do not exclude animal products entirely”. For example, someone following a plant-based lifestyle will mostly eat vegetables, fruits and legumes but might incorporate some eggs, dairy or fish in their diet. 

A vegan diet, on the other hand, has a far more strict definition: “Veganism is a philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude – as far as is possible and practicable – all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose”. This means that vegans will not consume eggs, dairy, honey, or any other animal-derived products. 


Why don’t vegans eat milk and eggs?

Someone on a vegetarian or plant-based diet might eat eggs and dairy, but someone on a vegan diet will not. Plant Based News explains, “the reason why vegans don’t eat these products is because they are made from animal exploitation”. 

It’s widely known that egg-laying chickens are kept in battery cages, “but even those in ‘free-range’ systems often live in cramped barns with thousands of other birds. Further, chickens and cows used in the egg and dairy industries will end up in the slaughterhouse”.


Why does it matter if you use the term vegan or plant-based?

The term ‘plant-based’ can be used to appeal to a wider audience, and make vegan products sound more approachable, but it cannot be used interchangeably with the word ‘vegan’. 

Forbes explains “it makes sense to label your product clearly as being suitable for those groups who will be actively searching the packet for this information”. For example, Mustard Foods Cauliflower Tikka Masala is suitable for consumers following a plant-based or vegan diet, but Mac & Cheese which contains dairy would only be suitable for plant-based consumers. 

The differences between plant-based and vegan diets might seem small, but it’s important to label products clearly for clarity and transparency with your consumers. 

More articles

Comments (0)

There are no comments for this article. Be the first one to leave a message!

Leave a comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published